Home About Us Our Look Reviews Reservations Directions Contact     
slice 13
   

REVIEWS

“The Art of Vastu,” Centre of the City magazine, 2005 (pdf)
“Solitude in the City,” North American Inns (pdf)

Trip Advisor

REVIEWS AT TRIP ADVISOR 
REVIEWS AT FODOR’S TRAVEL INTELLIGENCE 
REVIEWS AT YELP 
REVIEWS AT TRAVELPOD 

“Great for short stays”
Toronto, Canada

January 10, 2013

I stayed for a few nights in January at the Annex Quest House before I could move into my permanent accommodation. As as U of T Exchange Student staying alone, I felt incredibly safe. Staff were very friendly and felt I could always ask for help – emails back and fourth arranging the reservation were quick and very polite too. Great location, rooms good, and much better priced than the hotels in the area, would definitely stay again. Microwave and fridge in room were very much appreciated too!

“Convenient location, excellent customer service”
Orangeville, Canada

November 24, 2012

This location is literally beside the Spadina subway. Clean and simple accommodations, courteous and professional staff, appropriately priced. We appreciated the bottled water and the snacks. We were pleased and will consider this location again in the future as an alternative to overpriced hotels.

“Great location!”
Sheffield, United Kingdom

November 21, 2012

Stayed here for a week in November – perfect location for my purposes, being right by the subway. Having a microwave and fridge in the room meant that I could cook some simple food and didn’t need to eat out all the time. The staff were extremely helpful, providing a kettle for me to make tea, and letting me check out late on my last day so I could have a shower and freshen up before going to the airport. It was also great to be able to do laundry myself. The only down side was that my room was noisy with noise from the street and subway.

“An enjoyable stay”
Canada

October 25, 2012

With a unique, quaint atmosphere and extremely friendly and accommodating service, we enjoyed our stay. Located next to a subway, it was a short walk to lots of shopping and places of interest. We will be staying again next year.

“Wonderful stay, will recommend to anyone”
Romania

September 5, 2012

I stayed at this place for one week in August, and I have to say that I can’t wait to come back on any other occasion; the staff is very friendly, accommodating my requests promptly and making arrangements for a late check-in time. Free snacks, pop and water. I loved the location, just by the subway taking me anywhere I wanted to visit. Very clean and unique rooms (I stayed on the top floor one with queen bed), with modern amenities like flat screen TV. I loved my stay, price was very reasonable in comparison with places around. I definitely recommend it to anyone looking for quality, good price, cleanliness and wonderful staff. Thank you Annex Quest House.

“Best value in Toronto”
Glasgow, United Kingdom

August 21, 2012

I have stayed twice now at the Annex Quest House and each time I am not disappointed. This time I was in a basement room and was pre-warned that no air conditioning was present. The fact that it was below ground actually made the room cooler and I didn’t have any problems. Dion is probably the nicest host I have ever encountered on my travels. Nothing is too much for him and he goes out of his way constantly to make sure you are comfortable. The location is perfect and for a downtown property, the price is unbelievable – especially longer-term rentals. Would happily recommend!

“Totally Awesome!”
Calgary, Canada

July 26, 2012

A super convenient location in the Annex, with a metro station literally next door.
    Dion and the rest of the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable and very quiet and peaceful. The decor is warm and welcoming.
    The Annex Quest House is a rare find and I highly recommend it to anyone visiting Toronto.

“Exceeded expectations”
Farmingdale

July 10, 2012

This neighborhood was convenient for my early June 3-day weekend visit to Toronto, and the Annex Quest House was far nicer than I expected even with the glowing reviews I read on Tripadvisor. As many reviews indicate, it is clean and comfortable, and the staff is beyond helpful. In a rather expensive hotel city, it is amazing to find such a great budget option. My travel companion and I found that we could each have our own small room for far less than the cost of sharing a room at any of the hotels a few blocks away. I would absolutely stay there again.

“3-weeks stay: April–May”
Amsterdam, The Netherlands

May 27, 2012

Usually I write reviews about hotels or guest houses (which happens extremely rare) to share my negative experience, preventing others from getting into the same trap. I am happy to change this habit and to express my gratitude to Dion and Lory for this totally pleasant three-week stay: comfortable, clean, spacious, excellently located and super helpful! The personnel are more than friendly and efficient in both correspondence and onsite. I wish we could import that Canadian politeness to Europe. I’ll definitely consider it for my next stay in Toronto. Big thank you from Amsterdam, guys!

“Comfort not luxury”
Smiths Falls, Canada

May 17, 2012

Once again I stayed at the Annex Quest House on Spadina Road in Toronto. The room is small but very clean and comfortable. If you are looking for luxury and the amenities of a big hotel this is not the place for you. But if you are looking for a quiet affordable place to unwind after a long day I highly recommend the Annex Quest House.
    As a returning guest, check in is a breeze. I buzzed to be let in and the manager met me with a smile gave me my key cards and showed me to the room. No line-ups or endless forms to fill out. While the room is small, many conveniences are provided. Fridge, microwave, coffee maker, free WiFi, basic cable TV, alarm clock and a small desk.
    There is a cute balcony at the back of the building on the second floor. It is peaceful and late at night you can sit back and be amused by the antics of some of the city’s raccoons as they wander around the backyard.
    The rooms are pleasantly decorated in a manner that I find calming and relaxing. Returning to my room here at the end of a busy day of meetings downtown feels more like coming home than staying at a hotel.
    The entrance to the Spadina subway station is next to the front door of the hotel and the most interesting (to me at least) part of Bloor Street about 3 blocks away. Also it is very easy to get to when I’ve been driving.
    This is my third visit to this hotel in the past year and I intend on returning because it has everything I need for far less money than other hotels in the area.

“Great place”
Madrid, Spain

March 13, 2012

Excellent accommodation, clean, quiet with a kind service thanks to Dion, who facilitated everything. It would be great if they could offer breakfast.

“Great stay”
Halifax, Canada

March 10, 2012

Coming back to Toronto I couldn’t think of a better place to stay than the Annex Quest House. Clean, comfortable, great central location, and great staff. The manager is simply great: always with a smile on his face he goes beyond good customer service to make you feel right at home. The room was warm and comfortable, very clean, and the snacks came in very handy (lots of granola and cereal bars with juice and water to choose from). This is a boutique hotel that feels like home. No fancy chain hotel facilities. Its reasonably priced (actually with the crazy prices in Toronto) this is a real bargain. Do not hesitate to recommend this place.

“Cozy and clean!”
Prince George, Canada

February 7, 2012

This is an adorable little hotel, close to the subway and just off Bloor and all the busyness of Toronto. My room, Brahmaputra, was cozy and very clean. I had quite a lot of luggage and bags with me but my suitcases easily and conveniently rolled right under the platform bed.
    The manager, Dion, was very friendly. Next time I visit Toronto, I will be staying at the Annex Quest House.

“Very pleasant experience”
Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada

January 16, 2012

Lovely quiet atmosphere in the midst of a busy city. The walls were thin enough to hear conversations in neighbouring rooms but the house stayed very quiet overnight for a good sleep. The location was central to everything being so close to the subway and within walking distance to a variety of restaurants. I found the office staff friendly and very accommodating. I will definitely keep this place in mind for future trips.

“Good value, excellent location”
Sydney

January 9, 2012

I stayed for a month at this small but excellent guest house. The location is very convenient, literally next to the entrance of Spadina subway. The room is small but clean and well maintained. There is a coin operated laundry. The manager, Dion Chan, is very friendly and helpful. He is well traveled and knows a lot about Toronto so is a source of good tips. The only downside of the place is that there is no lounge area; a lounge/coffee area would be nice but for that they will have to renovate the place and knock down a room or two.

“Great location, quiet and well organized”
Washington, DC

November 14, 2011

I was a first-timer in Toronto and received very clear instructions on getting to/from the Quest House. Room was pretty, super-clean, very quiet, and I really appreciated the free water and snacks. Extremely good value for money. Unless you absolutely have to be down town or want a “hotel-looking” room or need a big room, don't bother looking any further.

“Quaint!”
Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada

November 9, 2011

I wanted to try staying in a guest house instead of a hotel for a change. The manager was very efficient at making sure I had a room ready and waiting for me on my arrival, answering emails and calls and being super helpful. The area is lovely and very close to subway, buses, street car, restaurants, etc. The house was quaint and the room was very clean and simple – you can see from the pictures. The room reminded me of guest houses that I have stayed at in India. This is not a hotel and if you like hotels you might not appreciate this type of room. If you like something a little different and homey, then this one is for you. A bit of noise from the street but I slept like a baby so it really didn't bother me any more than noise coming from my house or any hotel.

“Felt like home”
Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada

September 28, 2011

The Annex Quest House is not a big fancy hotel but it is quaint and very comfortable. The location is great for anyone who wants to be near the heart of Toronto. The staff were friendly, cheerful, and helpful. Our room was small but for a short stay it was very relaxing and brought a sense of home that I have not felt when staying in hotels. It is like a B&B but without the feeling that you are in someone else's home.
    We were surprised at how quiet the room was being it's located right on Spadina. Most importantly we found our room to be very clean. If you are looking for a all the amenities that a large hotel has then this is not the place for you. But I recommend it for anyone who is looking for a nice clean, quiet, place to unwind a and sleep while in Toronto.
    Also, if you go on the balcony for a break late at night you will find the raccoons to be friendly and entertaining.

“Character and Friendliness in Toronto”
Christchurch, New Zealand

September 24, 2011

We stayed in Toronto on our way to and from a wedding in Niagara on the Lake. The experience of the Annex was superb with the friendliest and most hospitable of staff. As we had come from New Zealand and were very tired on arrival, Dion, the manager, was so welcoming and helpful with directions before we arrived and hospitality after we had arrived. The rooms are cute and the location is so convenient. One downside was the noisy air-conditioning unit which was needed as the weather was very warm. Highly recommend this place for a stay in Toronto.

“Perfect balance of price and amenities for my business trips to Toronto”
New York, NY

September 20, 2011

I am in Toronto on a frequent and regular basis for both business and personal visits and need a place to stay that is both convenient as well as affordable. I own my own business and won't justify spending additional money on extra amenities that I don't have time to use. If I was traveling with my family on an occasional week or weekend and needed extra amenities I would gladly pay the extra dollars for my family's benefit.
    I am a man of simple needs and of high expectations. I expect the inn to be clean and it's impeccably clean. I expect it to be quiet and it's very quiet. I need internet and there's internet. I need parking and there's parking. I'm also grateful for the friendly staff that greets you with a smile as well as the refreshments like coffee, beverages and snacks that are replenished throughout the day. The inn is also literally on the other side of the driveway to the subway line. If my timing is right, I've made it to the entertainment district in 12 minutes via the subway.
    Having said that, with my frequency of business trips and even the occasional recreational visit to Toronto I would rather spend my money in an establishment where I feel I get an exceptional value. To me the Annex Quest House delivers just that. I've lost track of how many years I've been staying there. In my opinion, it's the best pound for pound accommodation value in Toronto.

“Fantastic, Pleasurable and Individual, Superb”
Guelph, Canada

August 29, 2011

I stayed at this amazing guest house in August, the room I had was a sub-level room offered. It was fantastic, completely original and extremely clean and tidy. I had a bathroom included in my room, again this was super clean and tidy and cleaned for the duration of my stay. The manager whom I dealt with was very organized and was able to meet my requirements. I would definitely stay here again and would have no problem in recommending them to others. I would also like to add that the location is fantastic. I arrived by Greyhound bus and the guest house is about a 30-minute walk from the main station or a $10 cab ride. It is also superbly located for the trains/buses. And very local to many restaurants.

“Friendly but unobtrusive; homely in a good way; great location”
London, United Kingdom

May 27, 2011

Dion, the manager, is friendly and helpful but unobtrusive. Rooms are smallish but comfortable. Bathroom was especially small but totally functional and clean. Location is excellent for Toronto public transport, including subway, streetcars and buses; it's also very walkable to lots of great places including restaurants and attractions such as the Royal Ontario Museum. Possibly the best ice cream in Toronto is only two blocks away at Greg's. Prices are reasonable. In-room fridge + coffee maker and granola bars were welcome. There is some street noise, but, after all, this is on a major street very centrally located. This was a very pleasant place to stay.

“A comfortable place to stay that quickly feels like home”
Kingston, Canada

April 1, 2011

The rooms are charming comfortable, spotlessly clean and quiet. Dion, the manager, is so thoughtful, kind and welcoming that I quickly came to feel at home. I will definitely be staying here the next time I am in Toronto.

“A totally different experience”
Kansas City, Missouri

March 7, 2011

This is not a corporate kind of place. This is a tiny, personal rooming house. Rooms are decorated in a unique way with principles of an Indian design (Vastu?). The sink in my room looked like a copper basin sitting on the counter. I wondered momentarily if it was even hooked to a drain (it was). I can’t wait to go back.

“A lovely, Vastu-principle hotel located in Toronto’s Annex”
Nelson, Canada

December 29, 2010

If you want to stay in the Annex and enjoy small, unique hotels/guesthouses, you should consider this Vastu-designed hotel located on Spadina Road. I found it online and was intrigued by the design principles used in the hotel (search Vastu): my room was called Vayu, its design based on the element of air. The staff were lovely, the atmosphere comfortable and quiet. I was able to purchase high-speed Internet for the length of my stay. Tea, coffee, bottled water, and a variety of healthy snacks were always available free of charge. The hotel is in an older brick house located right beside the Spadina subway station, and it is a short walk from Bloor where there is a wonderful vegetarian restaurant (Fresh), a natural foods store (Noah’s), and a variety of other shopping opportunities. It is also close to U of T, the ROM, and the Bata Shoe Museum. I have already recommended this hotel to a friend, who is planning her stay there in the middle of January.

“Staying here was the best decision I made”
United Kingdom

December 21, 2010

I chose this hotel because of its location and the ease with which I was able to communicate with them by email. From the onset, I was impressed with the email correspondence I had with the manager and I was able to ask questions about the room set up and the location. I was on a research trip that lasted for 3 weeks so it was important that I would get a comfortable and friendly establishment and this certainly was the one. My room was on the 4th floor, in the corner. Very spacious, large bed, big window to the front, clean bathroom, a lovely writing desk with internet connection, worktop, fridge, coffee maker and microwave. The rooms are checked on a daily basis (garbage emptied and towels changed if requested) and cleaned on the weekend. There is plenty of complimentary bottled water downstairs as well as teas, coffees, cup-a-soup, granola bars and cookies. These are replenished daily. Toronto is a very busy city and I am happy that I did not choose a hotel on the main street (Bloor St.) because the noise of traffic, ambulance, fire engines etc., is continuous. Traffic does not stop here. Instead this hotel is on the junction of Bloor and Spadina, 2 blocks from the main street and this is important if, like me, you dislike noise. There is an entrance to the subway next to the entrance of the hotel and the main subway station is on the junction of Boor/Spadina. I don’t think there could have been a better location for my stay. From my hotel, I can walk to China Town, Korea Town, Yonge Street, the Royal Ontario Museum, the Royal Conservatory etc... Public transport is amazing in this city and very cheap so if you walk too far you could always come back by streetcar or subway which will get you very close to the hotel. One of the best perks of this establishment is the laundry facilities. In the basement, there is a laundry room with very clean washing machine and dryer ($3.25 for complete wash) that came in handy. The best aspect of this place is its calm and quiet “aura” and incredibly helpful manager with lots of advice when needed and requested. I have no complaints and I’m full of praise for this place. I do not recommend it for people travelling with children or for those who require constant attention such as room service and concierge-type services. There is no elevator but there are plenty of rooms on the ground floor.

“Quiet, Discreet Guest House, Convenient to everything”
Washington, DC

November 17, 2010

I have been staying at Annex Quest House for about four years now, for my monthly trips to Toronto. It is convenient to the University and mid-town, and you can walk to the chic or funky neighborhoods a few minutes away on Bloor Street. Right beside a subway station exit, it’s convenient to downtown and only about an hour from Pearson Airport on public transit ($3 cash). Rooms are small, done in smart Vastu style (pick your element), with cable TV, a small fridge and microwave, and coffee/tea/bottled water/snacks provided. Platform beds are firm. The staff keep the rooms and hallways impeccably clean and well-maintained: you could eat off virtually any surface in the entire establishment. My only suggestion would be to make the Bell Data Valet free, but even at CA$5++/day, it’s a bargain.

“Friendly, convenient, good karma, great location”
Madison

September 26, 2010

Located literally next door to the subway station, you would never know it. We were in Room 201 which was plenty roomy for two with a great view of the action, faces busy Spadina and there was some noise. The room is sparse... don't look for a flat screen here, but has all the necessities including small fridge and microwave. This comes in very handy. Very clean. Parking is an additional $7 per day and worth it. A few blocks walk to Bloor Street which is stock full of restaurants and shops of all kinds. Very diverse. Close to University. We stayed a week for the special rate and loved it. We are a couple in our fifties, came just to check out the city, and would have enjoyed one soft chair, but otherwise found this the perfect location. You can streetcar or subway easily anywhere you want to go in Toronto. A great value for the money. We would return! 

“Wonderful experience! Serenity meets Film Festival.”
Denver, Colorado

September 21, 2010

I booked a room at the last minute for the Toronto film festival based on their website photos and description. The manager, Dion, responded immediately when I emailed about availability. I know that area of Toronto, but was pleasantly surprised that there's a subway entrance immediately next door. Toronto is safe for a woman at night but that is really comforting to know if I'm out late. It's a block and a half from Bloor and a 15 minute walk to Yorkville or faster by subway. But lots of nice little inexpensive eateries on Bloor near Spadina. Very college oriented neighborhood as it's just north of the U of T. Dion and Sylvia were very helpful with some problems I had with my laptop and let me use the office computer. The room was clean and very simple in design but also beautiful. The Vastu decor suited me perfectly. Very good mattress and temperature was perfect. Lighting could be a little better for reading. The snacks are OK, granola bars, chips, cookies, health bars and all the bottled water you need. It would be nice to have some fresh fruit and herb tea, but the fruit markets, health food and grocery stores on Bloor are just 10 minutes walk and I stocked up the first day. Because they don't provide breakfast, it was perfect for me because I have to eat gluten free food and have other food allergies, which in most B&B's I can't eat what they serve. The only thing I found annoying were the traffic sounds from Spadina at night and if I stay there again I'll ask for a room at the back of the house. For $70 a night I could not have been more impressed and comfortable. Oh and there's a Native Canadian Center just a block south of there on the other side of Spadina and they have an wonderful gift store full of arts and crafts by Native Canadians only.

“Cool, Funky & Comfy”
Douglassville, Pennsylvania

September 12, 2010

Ok, so a hotel designed on Vashtu principles? Hmmm, the Hindu style feng shui, basically. Pretty cool. The room was pretty small, so that's the number one drawback; well, really, the only drawback. It had a TV (small), and a bathroom with tub and shower (small), but it had a mini fridge and a microwave and a coffeemaker with tea, coffee, bottled water and granola bars provided. Very clean. Local phone calls were free. The metro was right next door, What more could you want? Well, yeah, we weren't in the room much: just to sleep, so we weren't on top of each other with laptops trying to do work, or anything. So it was just fine. Well worth the $105/per night cost. We arrived in Toronto by car and the parking in the back was only $7/night, which isn't bad, and we could come and go as we pleased and didn't have to tip a valet. Great location in Toronto, good value.

“Excellent Stay!”
Syracuse, New York

August 16, 2010

While we only stayed here one evening, our experience at this guest house was wonderful. It's located next door to the subway, and a few blocks away from Bloor St., where there are many restaurants and shops to visit. We stayed in a smaller room on the bottom floor (room 104), but it was lovely. All the rooms are decorated in the Vastu style, which is a traditional Hindu system of design based on directional alignments. The staff was wonderful and pleasant. The room had a faint scent of incense (barely detectable) and there was a recycling bin in the bathroom. The price was right! It is not a B&B, so don't expect breakfast, although there is a little area off to the side of the reception that has healthy snacks. We will be back!

“Great value!”
Sheffield, UK

June 26, 2010

My partner and I went to Canada in May to visit family. We had two separate visits to Annex Quest House, separated by a trip away.
    The hotel does exactly what it says on the website: it provides a clean, comfortable place to sleep. It makes no claim to have other indoor facilities, but is ideal for those who will be out most of the time. The room has everything you need, but would be a bit cramped to spend too much time during the day.
    Location is excellent for folk who want to get around Toronto - subway station adjacent. There's a great range of cafes and restaurants just around the corner on Bloor St West. Staff are extremely helpful and friendly and gave us some good tips. Value for money for this location is superb.

“Great little guest house – excellent and friendly service; very relaxed atmosphere.”
Exeter, UK

April 26, 2010

I stayed at the Annex Quest House while at a conference in Toronto. I'd initially booked for two nights but because of the volcano ash cloud had to fly in a day later than expected. Manager Dion and Assistant Manager Alison were very accommodating while I waited for information about my new travel schedule. Dion especially was very helpful when I initially inquired about the booking, helping me figure out the best public transportation route between Annex Quest House and my conference venue.
    Annex Quest House is in a very convenient location; public transport in Toronto is generally quite good and I found it very easy to get around. An abundance of restaurants, cafes, and funky little shops are within easy walking distance on Bloor Street very nearby.
    The Vastu decoration in my room was soothing, the bed was extremely comfortable, and the shower was great for both pressure and temperature. The toiletries provided (shampoo, conditioner, soap, hand cream) were a lovely fresh scent. The snacks provided in the room (and extras available in a little cabinet in the hallway) were a great bonus. I did hear some noise in the night as people brought suitcases up and down the stairs, but as I wear earplugs when sleeping, it didn't keep me awake.
    If you're looking for an affordable place with great service and a cosy, relaxed atmosphere, definitely look at Annex Quest House.

“The excellence of this hotel is entirely due to the superb quality of the management!”
Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom

April 25, 2010

For personal attention and abundance information, this hotel cannot be beat. Its close proximity to public transport and its location near the heart of Toronto make it ideal for accessing businesses and public amenities. This is a good place for short or long stays and I can heartily recommend it.

“Business or Pleasure, Trust in this Hotel”
North America

April 19, 2010

I stayed here for 5 nights in mid April 2010. The hotel is in an excellent location on Spadina Road and Bloor. The rooms are very clean and quiet, the staff are interesting and considerate, and the price is very reasonable.
    Unlike many hotels, both high end and low end in Toronto, this hotel does NOT have bedbugs. :)
    I'll stay here again without hesitation.

“Excellent , Clean, Indian style Stay”
Chatham, Canada

April 19, 2010

Excellent. Nice quiet quaint place. Rooms are nice, clean. There is no pomp, Just simple hospitality. Has high speed internet, cable tv, microwave and a mini fridge. Non smoking and is located close to subways and walking distance to Bloor Street. Would stay again!

“A quiet, convenient place to stay in a great Toronto neighborhood”
Smithers

February 11, 2010

We had a brief stopover in Toronto and wanted to spend the night in a friendly neighbourhood to get a taste of community life in the city. Annex Quest House is super accessible from the airport -just step outside the terminal, catch a TTS Airport Rocket bus ($3.50) and it drops you off at the end of the subway line. No additional ticket is required and if you get off the subway at the Spadina stop the Annex Quest house is just a short walk north up Spadina Rd. from the exit. Much faster than a taxi ride during the day we were told by a young man at our bus stop.
    The Annex Quest house feels more like a guesthouse than a hotel because it lacks a common area and reception at night is self-administered. Our room was clean and very attractive in a monkish, ecologically friendly sort of way. The tiny bathroom was very beautiful with its polished copper sink. The mattress was rather firm for western tastes, but we enjoyed a comfortable night's sleep with minimal traffic noise. Coffee-tea and snacks were provided and the next morning there was a helpful young man in the office.
    It was a short walk from the guesthouse to the heart of Bloor street with many friendly and inexpensive restaurants catering to a multi-cultural university crowd. We walked east on Bloor to the Museum and south on Spadina Avenue to Kensington Market and Chinatown. A great first taste of Toronto life in a few short hours.

“Gil — A Newcomer to Canada Recommends”
Toronto, Canada (newcomer)

September 30, 2008

As a newcomer from Israel to Canada, this hotel helped me a lot. Here are just come of the goodies:
– Hospitality, especially of Dion, the manager. I’ve got many advices and tips, even before I had a chance to ask... Whenever I came back I felt I returning home.
– Great monthly room + high-speed Internet rate. I could pay a reasonable price and take my time to look for an apartment to rent (even got help in the hotel).
– (Small) surprises. In spite of the fact that this hotel is without meals (just a coffee maker and microwave), they surprise you with stuff like chocolate-covered cookies, juices and even pop corn.
– Access to the subway is great.
– Other than that, room and showers are well maintained and cleaned.

I’ve really enjoyed it and will miss it.

Gil

“Charming and Cheap!”
Washington, DC

September 1, 2008

The Annex Quest House is one of the best lodging deals I’ve found. For the price of a dumpy, musty, low-end chain motel room you get fresh, clean, charming lodgings. Certainly, it is simple and with no frills, but they have gone to great effort to get the most out of basic materials. They have succeeded in making the rooms pleasant and unusual. 
    In booking a room I paid more attention to the price than the blurb about the rooms being designed according to “vastu” principles. I thought it might be something religious (and it may be), but vastu turns out to be the Indian version of Feng Shui and the effect is charming. The room even smelled nice – a fresh herbal, spicy scent (not the usual stale, moldy odor you get in a hotel room of any price), it was brightly painted with a matching Indian bedspread. There were the usual basic motel room accouterments: refrigerator, microwave, TV, radio-clock and coffee-maker, coffee, and snacks (only oversight here was that there was no provision to make tea). I had a basement room – the cheapest in the place, and it was small, but there was a window that opened (barred) and a fan to keep the room fresh and cool. The design principles seem to be to keep it plain, functional, cohesive, and colorful.
    The bathroom sink was a piece of art – made of inexpensive, basic materials, of course – a copper basin in the shape of an inverted bell, set on a sparse, black, wooden stand. The shower was clean and fairly new, the water pressure was good, and the hot water was plentiful. The staff was nice, friendly and helpful, though I hardly saw them as I was usually there outside of office hours (10 am to 7 pm).
    The location was optimal for me – I was attending a weekend event near the corner of Spadina and Bloor about two blocks away. There is a subway station just next door. It is a nice residential/college neighborhood. The restaurant and bar choices on nearby Bloor Street are mind-boggling. If you go out looking for a place to eat or drink, wear your walking shoes, you’ll go for blocks and blocks and there will still be something more interesting on the next block over.
    The hotel was fairly quiet at night, there were a few outdoor noises (Friday night on a holiday weekend) and some early in the morning as other residents left the hotel. The second night I wore light earplugs and was not disturbed.
    The negative comments I’ve read here seem to come from people who expected a standard chain-motel room. If that is your preference I recommend you go there. If you want something unusual, aesthetically pleasing, and frugal – this is THE place.

“Feels Like Home”
Toronto

November 4, 2007

Staying at the Annex Quest House was a nice change from the hotel scene. The rooms are all decorated beautifully with copper sink bathrooms and gorgeous chocolate wood floors. There are free water and snacks available for all guests and for those who travel for an extended time, a washer and dryer is available for use! Rooms have a small fridge and microwave also.
    But the best part is the staff. Dion makes sure all your needs are met and they go out of their way to make you feel happy and comfortable. This was my second visit and everything was as good or better than the first, so I thought I should share with others this wonderful gem!